Northeastern University
Sign Up
Northeastern University School of Law, Moot Court Room View map Free Event

65 Forsyth Street, Boston, MA 02115

View map Free Event

The 26th Annual Denise Carty-Bennia Memorial Bar Awards Reception will be held on Wednesday, May 22, 2019 from 4:00 to 5:15 p.m. in the Moot Court Room (160 Dockser Hall). All students, their families, the Alumni/ae Board, and faculty and staff of the Law School are invited to this event.

Keynote Speaker

Richard W. Rose '90 
Richard Rose, who recently retired as a federal prosecutor, served as lead counsel in the United States v. Cianci, a major public corruption case in Rhode Island, where he spent the majority of his career. Following hurricane Katrina, he spent a year prosecuting cases in New Orleans as part of the Department of Justice’s violent crime initiative. Richard is also an advocate for young people.  During his career he has spoken to over 30,000 middle and high school students on the dangers and alternatives to gangs, guns and drugs. He is a former Mintz Levin associate, and for ten years was a member of the adjunct faculty at the Roger Williams University School of Law.  

Richard was a student of Professor Carty-Bennia when he arrived at NUSL in 1987.  He remembers her as a mentor, Shepard, task master and friend.

Professor Denise Carty-Bennia was a highly successful attorney and tireless educator, advisor, mentor, and friend to countless Northeastern law students. She was dedicated to the pursuit of academic excellence and the expansion of opportunities for people of color. Professor Carty-Bennia's untimely death in 1990 created a void for many who knew her and her work.

Each year, as the applications for this award are reviewed, it is inspiring to see that so many Northeastern law students have dedicated themselves to improving the social and political issues that affect our communities as she did. Professor Carty-Bennia's dedication survives in the memories of those who knew and worked with her and lives on in those who choose to pursue a similar dream.

Sponsored by

Sherin and Lodgen

This year’s recipients are: 

Safira Castro
Kaire Colwell
Elinett Perez
Dexter Rowell
Monica Shah
Kevin Toussaint



0 people are interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity